Autopilot

Everything concerning Cessna O-1/L-19 Bird Dog is discussed here.
Post Reply
tigge
Posts: 23
Joined: 07 Nov 2008, 00:48

Autopilot

Post by tigge » 15 Jul 2010, 18:28

Hi,
Hmmm i need some help to add a autopilot in my Bird Dog in most plane even the ones without a AP i used to add one AP but this sems not be a easy thing to do in a Bird Dog is there a chance that someone can help me ??? :grin:

User avatar
bmd
Posts: 35
Joined: 17 Sep 2006, 22:19
Location: CYHU

Re: Autopilot

Post by bmd » 15 Jul 2010, 20:03

Hello tigge,

It is easy to add an autopilot to the wonderful Burd Dog

First made a safegard copy of the original aircraft.cfg file under another name.
Then edit the aircraft.cfg file (with notepad for exemple) and search for [autopilot] section.
A the top of this section you will have
autopilot_available= 0
This value mean that the autopilot is not installed ine the BirdDog
Change it value for
autopilot_available= 1
Doing so the autopilot is now available in your Bird Dog.

Now you wil need to include an autopilot in your panel. Goes to the panel folder and save the original panel.cfg file under another name.
Look for [Window Titles] section and modify it for

[Window Titles]
Window00=Main Panel
Window01=GPS Panel
Window02=pilote_auto
Window03=HSI

After the [Window01] section add

[Window02]
BACKGROUND_COLOR=2,2,2
size_mm=156,48
position=8
visible=0
windowsize_ratio=1.000
window_size =0.25,0.15
ident=RADIO_STACK_PANEL
zorder=3

gauge00=Bendix_King_Radio!Bendix-King Radio AP, 0,0,156,48


[Window03]
BACKGROUND_COLOR=100,100,100
size_mm=100,100
position=6
visible=0
window_pos=0.010, 0.75
window_size =0.15, 0.20
ident=HSI

gauge00=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 0,0,100,100

Thhe heading indicator is necessary to use thhe HDG Hold mode. You will have a default Cessna 172 autopilot.
I suppose that you are already familiar with the autopilot of the default Cessna 172. If not, Ican give you some hints about how to use it.

Have a good day

Benoit

tigge
Posts: 23
Joined: 07 Nov 2008, 00:48

Re: Autopilot

Post by tigge » 15 Jul 2010, 20:34

Thank you;
you made my day :grin:
and the AP is there and working fine,

Happy landings

Per E

Fortunati
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Sep 2013, 14:13

Re: Autopilot

Post by Fortunati » 26 Sep 2013, 16:50

Hello, guys!
I have a question. Why does the autopilot works only on E model?
What you need to do for models A, F, Float Skis function too? :?:
Thanks.
Fortunati

sieggie
Posts: 52
Joined: 28 Jun 2010, 17:39

Re: Autopilot

Post by sieggie » 26 Sep 2013, 18:30

Double check your changes. In particular the autopilot_available=1. Autopilot is not a function of the Birddog but of FSX so it does not care what plane you are using.

Dave

Fortunati
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Sep 2013, 14:13

Re: Autopilot

Post by Fortunati » 26 Sep 2013, 23:06

Dear Dave
I did the same process to all models, but, unfortunately didn´t work.

Fortunati

Post Reply