A2A lights on Saab?

Everything concerning SAAB 91 Safir X is discussed here.
Post Reply
Private-Cowboy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 15:46

A2A lights on Saab?

Post by Private-Cowboy » 15 Nov 2008, 02:13

Hi there,

given the fact that the Safir has landings lights left and right in the wings I imagine it might look really nice with the A2A redux lights. Has anyone tried that yet?

Best regards...

mangotango
Posts: 64
Joined: 10 Nov 2008, 13:22
Location: CH - Bolligen, Bern
Contact:

Re: A2A lights on Saab?

Post by mangotango » 15 Nov 2008, 20:45

Hi Cowboy,

I have tried to get the settings of the A2A lights right. Unfortunately this is the closest I could get with quick changes of the "SibWings_SAAB_91D_HB-DBL" aircraft.cfg file.
Only thing that I couldnt create is the 3D light (Vlumetric effect) of the landing lights - maybe you could get it right and post it.
... I will still try.

Here we go:
Change the LIGHT in the aircraft.cfg to as follows:

[LIGHTS]
light.0 = 3, -0.36, -17.5, 1.175, Fx_shockwave_navred
light.1 = 3, -0.36, 17.5, 1.175, Fx_shockwave_navgre
light.2 = 3, -15.15, 0, 6, fx_S91_navwhi
light.3 = 3, -10.8, 0, 0.3, fx_S91_navwd
light.4 = 10, -1, 0.5, 3.1, fx_s91_vclight
light.5 = 5, 0, 0, -1, Fx_shockwave_beacon_rotating_red
light.6 = 1, -14.9, 0, 6.35, Fx_shockwave_beacon

Save and load the aircraft in FSX - could be better but works ok - only if I could get the 3D effect right.
You have to be careful to do these changes to all the different SAAB SAFIR due to they have different light options.

Have fun,
mangotango
ASUS P9X79 Deluxe - INTEL CORE i7 3630K - 2 x EVGA GTX 680 (SLI) - CORSAIR H100 - CORSAIR DDR3 1600MHZ 16GB - CORSAIR AX 1200W - CORSAIR 800D CASE - EIZO S 2431 W - 2 x CRUCIAL 256 SSD 6GB/s- 2 x 2TB CAVIAR BLACK - W7 64

Private-Cowboy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 15:46

Re: A2A lights on Saab?

Post by Private-Cowboy » 19 Nov 2008, 01:20

Strange thing is I can't find the coords for the landing lights anywhere. As it seems the cfg does not define landing lights at all. But how do they work then???

User avatar
Andrey
Site Admin
Posts: 834
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 12:51
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: A2A lights on Saab?

Post by Andrey » 19 Nov 2008, 04:18

Private-Cowboy wrote:Strange thing is I can't find the coords for the landing lights anywhere. As it seems the cfg does not define landing lights at all. But how do they work then???

Hi,

That's true, landing lights are provided with special polygons in mdl file, but it's effect could be replaced with effects files change.

Andrey
Image
We are at facebook: facebook.com/sibwings

User avatar
Kofi
Posts: 110
Joined: 03 Sep 2006, 06:13

Re: A2A lights on Saab?

Post by Kofi » 21 Nov 2008, 04:14

Private-Cowboy wrote:Strange thing is I can't find the coords for the landing lights anywhere. As it seems the cfg does not define landing lights at all. But how do they work then???
Most FSX aircraft don't have landing light coordinates in the AIRCRAFT.CFG file. Thus, individuals are "eyeballing" it when they create A2A landing light coordinates for the AIRCRAFT.CFG file 8)

Post Reply