Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

All problems and technical questions concerning our SAAB 91 Safir X are discussed here.
pmcguire
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Dec 2008, 16:35

Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by pmcguire » 20 Jan 2009, 09:48

Not a complaint, it is beta software after all. It crashes while activating.
So I reinstalled Vista and my hardware id is different (grrrr) which means I have to wait two weeks.

Epikk
Posts: 11
Joined: 10 Mar 2007, 05:49

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Epikk » 25 May 2009, 12:14

Same where I have a error/violation messages on Win 7 RC every time I try to activate my Saab 91X...

Image

Image

User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 01:08
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Alex » 25 May 2009, 22:12

Sorry guys, but we don't support Windows 7. Only XP or Vista.
Alex Petrochenko
SibWings developer

SGTMAJOR
Posts: 86
Joined: 03 Sep 2006, 04:17
Location: California, USA

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by SGTMAJOR » 29 May 2009, 21:12

Sorry fellas.... I sent a support e-mail last evening requesting help to re-install your wonderful SAFIR on my now Awesome "updated" computer. (Smile)

Rats... I now see you guys don't support Windows 7..... I'm sorry for not reading your forum first.

Anyway.... Thanks for your work on your aircraft.... however, I'm sticking with Windows 7....... the benefits and smoothness out weight the disavantages for the time being.

I'll keep watching..... hopefully by the time the real Windows 7 comes out you will have support for it. (smile)

Again.... thanks for your work.... sorry to have bothered you..... Good Luck!

Best wishes,
Steve

JJJackson
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Jun 2009, 13:52

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by JJJackson » 02 Jun 2009, 13:57

Hi

This is NOT TRUE!!!! I have WIN7 RC installed and the download version for FSX installs perfectly.


Jack J Jackson
A Swede in spain

User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 01:08
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Alex » 02 Jun 2009, 15:12

JJJackson wrote:Hi

This is NOT TRUE!!!! I have WIN7 RC installed and the download version for FSX installs perfectly.


Jack J Jackson
A Swede in spain
Hi Jack,
May be you use Just Flight version ?

It might work but we don't support Safir on WinRC7.
Alex Petrochenko
SibWings developer

User avatar
barnstormer
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Apr 2008, 00:40
Location: Vienna

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by barnstormer » 08 Jun 2009, 18:37

NO :smt100 ??? :smt022

Also with me. Call of the FSX SAAB SAFIR -> CTD. (Win7RC how many users!!)
New installation impossibly. Access violation error :/

No Support for Win7RC ?
Also not SaabSafir, L-19 Support for Win7 (appointment October, 2009) ??

Should one save the joy on a Cessna L-19 Bird Dog ??

I deinstall the wonderfull SAAB SAFIR.
The best of all. My favorite airplane. Good by :smt022
Image
Image

Jigsaw
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Aug 2009, 15:34

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Jigsaw » 12 Aug 2009, 23:02

You don't even try to fix it? Okay... that's one way to provide service. I was thinking about getting the Safir, but I certainly won't buy a product that I won't be able to use. I hope you will change that when Windows 7 is on the market officially, because I know for a fact that many simmers will make the transitition to W7.

Just speaking as a potential customer, and not as someone whose money you already have. ;)

ToniJH
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Aug 2009, 20:48

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by ToniJH » 15 Aug 2009, 20:52

Hi
Im running Windows 7 64bit, and have this same problem. I buyed Saab Safir today and the plane does'nt work.
Windows 7 release is near so i hope Sibwings will resolve this problem, or soon they will have more angry customers. So i hope you fix this problem soon as possible or you return my money.

User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 01:08
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Alex » 17 Aug 2009, 22:10

Hi Guys,

Does anybody want to help us with testing under Windows 7 ? :)
Alex Petrochenko
SibWings developer

dautun
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Aug 2009, 16:45

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by dautun » 19 Aug 2009, 16:48

Hello,
I am french.
If you want i can test SAFIR on windows 7.
MD.

ToniJH
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Aug 2009, 20:48

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by ToniJH » 21 Aug 2009, 08:32

I am ready for testing Saab in Win7.

IanHenry
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 21:37

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by IanHenry » 26 Aug 2009, 13:36

Hi,
I would also like to help out with testing Windows 7. Strangely the Sibwings Safir is the only add-on which has not worked ok for me on Windows 7.

Regards,
Ian.

big-mike
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 18:57

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by big-mike » 21 Oct 2009, 19:01

I cannot believe what i read here.I also enjoy the Safir X and wait for the Birddog.
Yesterday i got my W7 Ultimate 64bit and i will not be able to use the Safir
with it?Have yet not installed the new OS,but this one will be the way to go,after XP
is nearly history and Vista was not the best release of Microsoft.
To be honest,but you guys at SW should be able -and i think,it`s a must-do- to patch the Safir
to W7,also the upcoming Birddog should run with W7.
Michael

User avatar
Dieter
Posts: 60
Joined: 08 Sep 2006, 21:53
Contact:

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Dieter » 24 Oct 2009, 11:36

I totally agree what Michael wrote!
W7 will be the standard OS the next years and FSX will stay standard flight simulator the next 5 years, at least.
On one hand it would be more than sad and a waste of expertise if the SafirX could not run on this new platform,
on the other hand a lot of Safir users would be very disappointed not being able to use this fantastic plane anymore.
But like me, I would rather give up this great airplane with a heavy heart as the advantages of the new operating system.
I'm more than sure that you experts at SW-Lab have the experience to modify this beloved Safir plane.
Maybe there will be enough time in future after finishing your Bird Dog project to find a way for an modification, hopefully.

Greetings
Dieter

big-mike
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 18:57

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by big-mike » 27 Oct 2009, 19:51

If i could help to get the Safir working in WIN7 i would do so.
But my knowledge about his is too small.
I hope,you at Sibwings give us the Safir back in WIN7.
Love this aircraft!Also want to purchase the Birddog,when it`s out.
Michael

User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 01:08
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Alex » 29 Oct 2009, 01:10

Hi Guys,

I've just uploaded new installation pack with fixed safir.dll and activation functionality for W7.
Please, test it on Windows 7.

download here: http://sibwings.com/get/safirx.exe
Alex Petrochenko
SibWings developer

big-mike
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 18:57

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by big-mike » 29 Oct 2009, 19:33

Hi Alex,
she flys again!!!
Thank you so much for the fix!
Great work.
Michael

dautun
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Aug 2009, 16:45

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by dautun » 03 Nov 2009, 18:36

++Thank a lot.
Regards.
dautun. :grin:

Pidder
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Dec 2008, 17:52

Re: Just to let you know, the Safir wont install on Windows 7

Post by Pidder » 21 Nov 2009, 00:06

Okay, I've changed from Vista 32 HP to Win7 64 HP and had to install all my FSX new. But it is impossible to install the the Safir, because of a differnt fingerprint? From 4 GB I've increased RAM to 8 GB. I want to use my Safir - how can I do this???? The new installer didn't work in this case...

Post Reply