Crashing

All problems and technical questions concerning our SAAB 91 Safir X are discussed here.
Chris H
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 13:49

Crashing

Post by Chris H » 05 Nov 2008, 13:53

First let me say thankyou for the free upgrade to the FSX version of the Safir, it's wonderful to see developers honouring promises like this.

I've only taken a few quick flights so far but one thing I've noticed is that FSX will crash if you try to swap from one model of the Safir to another while the engine is running. No crash occurs if the engine is not running and you can swap from model to model without any problems.

Also the left main wheel on the 91D HAF Safir doesn't appear to be animated.

Will a paintkit be released?

User avatar
Andrey
Site Admin
Posts: 834
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 12:51
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: Crashing

Post by Andrey » 05 Nov 2008, 14:09

Hello Chris!

Thank you for bug inform, will check it.

FS 2004 paint kit should be most compatible, same as all free repaints, but we didn't check it for sure yet.

Right now I'm in experiments with them :)

Andrey
Image
We are at facebook: facebook.com/sibwings

Chris H
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 13:49

Re: Crashing

Post by Chris H » 05 Nov 2008, 15:08

Thanks Andrey. It's a cracking little package, but having owned the FS2004 version previously I had no doubts really. :smt003

GAJIT
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 21:52

Re: Crashing

Post by GAJIT » 05 Nov 2008, 21:56

Hi Andrey

I must echo Chris' thanks for giving us the free upgrade. Very much appreachiated.

I am also having the crashing problem that Chris discribed.

My thanks again and congratulations on your excellent product.

Regards

GJ

User avatar
Andrey
Site Admin
Posts: 834
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 12:51
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: Crashing

Post by Andrey » 05 Nov 2008, 23:37

Hmm.. Strange, I have no such problem here. What aircraft exactry you are switched to, before crash ?

Andrey
Image
We are at facebook: facebook.com/sibwings

GAJIT
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 21:52

Re: Crashing

Post by GAJIT » 06 Nov 2008, 00:17

Hi Andrey

Its very odd - i have only been able to load the Safir 91B once from a saved cold start Cessna 182 flight and it worked well.

Every time i try to create a free flight i can get each of the Safirs to appear when I click details but the moment I click Fly now (from runway) i CTD.

Everything else is flying and working fine.

GAJIT
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 21:52

Re: Crashing

Post by GAJIT » 06 Nov 2008, 00:19

Hi

I have now been able to load all of them if i have no engine running and if i start by creating a flight.

The product is superb other than this running engine problem. :grin:

GAJIT
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 21:52

Re: Crashing

Post by GAJIT » 06 Nov 2008, 00:34

Hi Again

Very strange - I just CTD after trying to "fly" a saved cold start that worked when I had saved it but have just managed to load a running 91C!

Love the way the exhust pipes vibrate and the detail of the bumpmapping

GAJIT
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 21:52

Re: Crashing

Post by GAJIT » 06 Nov 2008, 00:43

Hi - I hope this helps in some way.

I have noticed that when switching in flight i get a view of the renewed Safir when paused - but the moment I press P it CTD.

I am also finding that the saved flight i could fly before the CTD will no longer work yet the saved flight that would not work before - will now work!!

Update - discovered that to reset a flight that has been flying fine for 20 mins causes a CTD.

calypsos
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 23:04

Re: Crashing

Post by calypsos » 06 Nov 2008, 23:08

I have the same snag, the only time I have ever got a Safir to load was from a fresh start, using one instead of a default aircraft, which is normal procedure in 'Free Flight' mode. I then tried to change to another Safir and had a major crash to black screen that required a full re-boot to re-load windows!
I cannot call up any Safir (from a default aircraft) without at least getting a CTD.
Apart from that she is real stunner!!!!!

bhorse
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Nov 2008, 11:13

Re: Crashing

Post by bhorse » 07 Nov 2008, 11:19

I have found much the same as above.
I have no problem if I load the aircraft in free flight.
If I then try to change aircraft, either to another Safir or the a default aircraft
I get a CTD.
Otherwise, What an Aircraft !!.

Brian.H

Nick C
Posts: 77
Joined: 07 May 2006, 19:18
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Crashing

Post by Nick C » 08 Nov 2008, 15:49

I'm sure it's obvious there is a bug by now, however I'll just add my voice to the list of those affected :wink:
Regards,

Image

Private-Cowboy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 15:46

Re: Crashing

Post by Private-Cowboy » 08 Nov 2008, 15:55

Same here, loading one Saab works well but switching from one to another causes a CTD here. However I don't do that often inflight. The non-rolling weels of the D-model are more annoying to me. Otherwise I have to say that the SafirX has to be one of the best GAs I've ever seen/flown. I did not have the FS9-Version so I'm new to the Saab and this really sets the bar very very very high. Wow.

dpc111
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Oct 2006, 02:40

Re: Crashing

Post by dpc111 » 08 Nov 2008, 21:16

Great update. Nice to fly the Safir in FSX. I am having the same crashing issue when switching aircraft though.

Private-Cowboy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 15:46

Re: Crashing

Post by Private-Cowboy » 08 Nov 2008, 21:30

This seems to be related to some part of the Safir running. When I load one Safir from my C&D state I can switch back and forth to others without problems. When I start everything up and try to switch it crashes. I've not yet nailed the part that causes the problem or in other words after wich point of the startup if does not work anymore.

User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: 18 Sep 2005, 01:08
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Crashing

Post by Alex » 08 Nov 2008, 21:32

problem fixed.
Please wait FSX Safir update.
Alex Petrochenko
SibWings developer

Nick C
Posts: 77
Joined: 07 May 2006, 19:18
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Crashing

Post by Nick C » 08 Nov 2008, 21:45

Alex wrote:problem fixed.
Please wait FSX Safir update.
Thanks for the info Alex :smt023
Regards,

Image

bhorse
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Nov 2008, 11:13

Re: Crashing

Post by bhorse » 10 Nov 2008, 05:49

Gents.

Further to my last report, I have done some trouble shooting and if it
is of any help this is what I have found.
1. I copied the sound engine sounds to all the aircraft sound folders.
2. Copied the gauges, safir.cab and safir.dll to each aircrafts panel folder.

Started FSX and was asked to confirm that safir.dll was a trusted gauge.
This had not occurred previously.
I replied YES. Selected the Saab 91B, aircraft and loaded same.
I then selected a new aircraft, chose the default Cessna 172 and it loaded
correctly. I then tried to reload the Saab 91B aircraft and got a black screen
and then the " do you want to report the problem to Microsoft"
I repeated the process with each Saab aircraft in turn.
When I loaded the 91C aircraft SE-KVZ it loaded and ran normally but
when I attempted to change aircraft I got the same black screen as above.
The other aircraft loaded as did the first one.
When I checked the fault box the offending item was the safir.dll file.

I hope this is of some help.

Brian Horsey

Chris H
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2008, 13:49

Re: Crashing

Post by Chris H » 10 Nov 2008, 16:14

Alex wrote:problem fixed.
Please wait FSX Safir update.
Excellent news :)

Private-Cowboy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 15:46

Re: Crashing

Post by Private-Cowboy » 17 Nov 2008, 01:14

The 2.0.1 fixed the CTDs as well as a few other problems here (non-rolling wheels on the SF-3 and lamp light in the c-version). Thanks for the fix.

Post Reply